Latest news:

Aug 07, 2010:
108 Divya Desam Tour. more...

Apr 07, 2009:
First Visit to Tirumala . more details....

Feb 07, 2009:
Taken rebirth as Sri Vaishnava "Ravindra Iyengar Adiyen Sri Ramanuja Dasan". more...


Imp Dates:

Ekadasi and other important dates for Sri Vaishnavas and Sri Ramanuja Sampradayam ! More...


- Add Favorites
- Add Bookmarks

- ARD - Adiyen Ramanuja Dasan
- TTD Seva
- Tirumala News
- Sri Vaishnava
- Jeeyar Edu. Trust
- srivenkatesa
- Aalaya Darshanam
- M M E J Mutt
- Facebook

Site Rev. : 1.0
Pages : 650
Dt: (Mar. 31, 2011)

  counter customizable
View My Stats

Flash News :

Tirumala Tirupati

Welcome to Adiyen Sri Ramanuja Dasan !

" Srimathe Ramanujaya Namaha !"

36) What do thse Smritis talk about?

The Smritis describe the codes of conduct for mankind in day-to-day life; how they should conduct themselves; and for any wrong doings, what are the punishments or atonements (prayaschitta) to be undergone. The Smritis can be considered as elaborating or explaining the Karma Kanda of the Vedas.

37) What are Itihasas?

Ramayana and Mahabharata are called Itihasas.

38) Are they considered very sacred?

They are considered as sacred as the Vedas themselves. The Mahabharata is called the Fifth Veda.

39) How many Puranas are there?

There are 18 Puranas. These are sub-divided into three sets or groups. The first set of six Puranas are authoritative, sacred. These are called Sattvika Puranas. The second set of six Puranas are of medium quality, i.e. the whole thing cannot be accepted as true. These are called Rajasa Puranas. The third set of six puranas cannot be taken as perfectly valid. Only some portions of them, which are not opposed to Vedas, can be taken as authoritative. These are called Tamasa Puranas.

40) What are the Puranas that fall in these three groups.

1. The first set of six Puranas which are most sacred (Sattvika Puranas) are as follows: Vishnu Purana, Bhagavatam, Narada Purana, Padma Purana, Varaha Purana, Garuda Purana.

2.The second set of six Puranas, which are not wholly authoritative, (Rajasa Puranas) are: Vamana Purana, Brahma Purana, Markandeya Purana, Bhaavishya Purana, Brahmanda Purana, Brahma Vaivarta Purana.

3.The last set of six Puranas, which are not very authoritative (Tamasa Puranas) are: Matsya Purana, Kurma Purana, Agni Purana, Linga Purana, Siva Purana, Skanda Purana.

41) How do you accept these as authorities or Pramana?

The basic rule is that the Vedas are the Ultimate authority or Pramana. So, in the Puranas, whichever does not conflict or contradict the Veda, can be taken as authority.



\|/ Adiyen Ramanuja Dasan \|/ Jai Srimannaryana ! \|/

Thanks for your support and valuable time.
Visit our web site again soon for more information and latest updates.